Follow

'Navigation to web page canceled' while signing in

Why do I get a "navigation to the web page has been canceled" error when signing in?

You may receive this error message when a site or program is in a different Internet Explorer Security Zone. To resolve this, you'll need to reset your web browser. This involves clearing out old temporary internet files and resetting Security Zone and Privacy settings.

First, make Internet Explorer your default web browser:

1. Open Microsoft Internet Explorer.
2. Click the Tools menu (gear icon), then choose Internet Options.
3. Click on the Programs tab.
4.  Under Default Web Browser, click the Make Default button.
5. Click the Apply button and then click OK to exit.

Next, reset Internet Explorer.
(These instructions are for versions 8.0 or above.)

  1. Click the Tools menu (gear icon), then choose Internet Options.
  2. In the General tab, click the Delete button.
  3. Check Temporary Internet Files and Cookies.
  4. Uncheck Preserve favorite website data.
  5. Click Delete.
  6. In the Security tab, click Reset all zones to default level.
  7. In the Privacy tab, click Default.
  8. In the Connections tab, click LAN settings.
  9. Record any Proxy Settings.
  10. Check Automatically detect settings.
  11. Uncheck remaining boxes.
  12. In the Advanced tab, click Restore advanced settings.
  13. Click Reset.
  14. Check Delete personal settings. Click Reset.
  15. Click Close.
  16. Exit and restart IE.

Once Internet Explorer has been reset, try signing in.

If you are still having issues, try temporarily lowering the Zone Security Levels in Internet Options:

1. Click the Tools menu, then choose Internet Options.
2. In the Security tab, temporarily lower the Security Level slider to Medium.
3. Click the Apply button to save your changes.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 8 found this helpful
Powered by Zendesk